Visa Waiver Program

The Visa Waiver Program (VWP) enables nationals of 38 participating countries to travel to the United States for tourism or business for stays of 90 days or less without obtaining a visa.  VWP eligible travelers may apply for a visa, if they prefer to do so. Nationals of VWP countries must meet eligibility requirements to travel without a visa on VWP, and therefore, some travelers from VWP countries are not eligible to use the program. VWP travelers are required to have a valid authorization through the Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA) prior to travel.

Citizens of the following countries may be eligible to use the VWP to travel to the United States:

Andorra Hungary New Zealand
Australia Iceland Norway
Austria Ireland Portugal
Belgium Italy San Marino
Brunei Japan Singapore
Chile Latvia Slovakia
Czech Republic Liechtenstein Slovenia
Denmark Lithuania South Korea
Estonia Luxembourg Spain
Finland Malta Sweden
France Monaco Switzerland
Germany the Netherlands Taiwan*
Greece United Kingdom


Note: *Eligible Taiwan passport holders may begin traveling to the United States without visas under the Visa Waiver Program beginning on November 1, 2012.

For complete information about the Visa Waiver Program and passport requirements, click here.