US Ambassador Supports 2016 International Year of Pulses

Manila, April 19, 2016 — U.S. Ambassador to the Philippines Philip S. Goldberg hosted a trade reception at his residence for members of the press and key food industry representatives to highlight pulses (e.g., dried peas, beans, lentils, and chickpeas) as an environmentally-friendly, nutritionally-rich protein source for meeting future food needs. The trade reception follows the United Nations’ declaration of 2016 as the “International Year of the Pulse,” the goal of which is to raise public awareness on the nutritional benefits of pulses.

According to Ambassador Goldberg, “U.S. pulse producers and other stakeholders are working closely with governments and private sectors around the world to increase global production of pulses, better utilize pulse-based proteins, address trade challenges, and heighten public awareness on pulses as a superfood.”

Additionally, Ambassador Goldberg encouraged attendees to sign up for the “Pulse Pledge” at, commit to eating pulses once per week for 10 weeks, and receive recipes and small prizes along the way.

In the past five years, the United States has held a 45 percent share of the Philippine market for imported pulses. The U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Foreign Agricultural Service in Manila, the USA Dry Pea & Lentil Council and the U.S. Dry Bean Council, in collaboration with the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, spearheaded the formation of the Pulse Association of the Philippines to strengthen the link between U.S. pulse producers and Philippine food industry stakeholders. The Pulse Association will work with local farmers, government, industry, academe, the press, and others to promote pulse-based foods in the Philippines. Founding members include Century Pacific Corporation, Commodity Quest, Ideal Macaroni & Spaghetti Factory, JBC Food, M&T Food, Ram Food Products, Trans-Millennium Mercantile, Universal Robina, Vitachem, WL Foods, and food experts such as Jill Sandique, Virgith Buena and Henk Hoogenkamp.