An official website of the United States government

Health Alert – U.S. Emb­assy Manila (July 16, 2020)
July 16, 2020

United States Embassy Manila, Philippines

Health Alert – U.S. Emb­assy Manila (July 16, 2020)

Location:  The Philippines

Event:  Cebu City Under Modified Enhanced Community Quarantine (MECQ); Metro Manila remains under General Community Quarantine (GCQ); Other Areas reverted to GCQ while the Rest of the Country placed under Modified General Community Quarantine (MGCQ)

 On July 15, the Philippine government announced the below classifications for areas in the country as a continued measure against the spread of COVID-19.

  • Cebu City is now placed under Modified Enhanced Community Quarantine (MECQ) status from July 15 to July 31 after a month of being under the enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) due to a spike in coronavirus disease (COVID-19) cases.
  • Areas under General Community Quarantine (GCQ) from July 15-31:

Luzon – NCR (Metro Manila), Region IV-A (Calabarazon): Laguna, Cavite and Rizal

Visayas – Lapu-Lapu City, Mandaue City, Ormoc City, Leyte, Southern Leyte, and Cebu Province: Cities of Talisay, Minglanilla, and Concepcion

Mindanao- Zamboanga City, Butuan City, Agusan del Norte and Basilan

  • Areas under“Medium-Risk” Modified General Community Quarantine (MGCQ) are:               

Luzon – Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR):Benguet, Baguio City, Region 1 (Ilocos Region): Ilocos Sur, Pangasinan, Ilocos Norte, La Union, Dagupan City, Region 2 (Cagayan Valley): Cagayan, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya, Region 3 (Central Luzon): Bataan, Nueva Ecija, Pampanga, Bulacan, Tarlac, Zambales, Angeles City, Region 4-A (Calabarzon): Batangas, Quezon, Lucena City, Region 4-B (Mimaropa): Oriental Mindoro, Occidental Mindoro, and Puerto Princesa City, Region 5 (Bicol): Albay, Masbate, Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Catanduanes, Sorsogon, Naga City

Visayas- Region 6 (Western Visayas): Iloilo, Negros Occidental, Capiz, Antique, Aklan, Guimaras, Iloilo City, Bacolod City, Region 7 (Central Visayas): Negros Oriental, Bohol, Cebu Province, Region 8 (Eastern Visayas):Western Samar, Leyte, Biliran, Tacloban City

Mindadano – Region 9 (Zamboanga): Zamboanga del Sur, Zamboanga Sibugay, Zamboanga del Norte, Region 10 (Northern Mindanao): Misamis Occidental, Bukidnon, Lanao del Norte, Cagayan de Oro City, Iligan City, Region 11 (Davao region):  Davao Oriental, Davao del Norte, Davao del Sur, Davao de Oro, Davao City, Region 12: Sultan Kudarat, Cotabato, South Cotabato, General Santos City, BARMM: Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao

  • The rest of the country will remain under “Low-Risk” MGCQ until July 31.

For quarantine classification protocols and regulation, please visit http://www.covid19.gov.ph/ecq-gcq-guidelines/ for guidance.

Local Government Units (LGUs), i.e. cities and municipalities in the National Capital Region, may still have curfews in effect to limit exposure to the COVID-19 virus.  Some provinces have implemented their own community quarantines.  Domestic travel (land, air and sea) remains restriced. If you live in an area that has imposed a local curfew ordinance or similar community quarantine, please plan your activities and travel accordingly and monitor the relevant LGU’s website for their rules and regulations.​

The temporary travel ban on arriving foreign nationals that was implemented on March 22, 2020 by the Philippine government is still in effect.  Please visit the Department of Foreign Affairs website here for updates and advisories.

Please comply with local quarantine requirements and strictly follow local authorities.  Regardless of location, U.S. citizens are encouraged to continue to practice proper anti-virus safety protocols, such as frequent hand washing and social distancing.

Routine U.S. citizen services, including all passport, citizenship, notary, and legal capacity to marry services are still suspended.  For emergency services, including emergency passports and reports of death, please contact American Citizen Services via email at ACSInfoManila@state.gov or call +63 (2) 5301-2000.  The U.S. Embassy is not accepting walk-ins at this time. 

Actions to Take:


  • U.S. Embassy in the Philippines
    1201 Roxas Boulevard
    +63(2) 5301-2000, from 7:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Monday through Friday
    After-hours emergency number for U.S. citizens is +(63)(2) 5301-2000
  • State Department–Consular Affairs 888-407-4747 or 202-501-4444.
  • State Department’s travel website for the Worldwide Caution, Travel Advisories, Alerts, and the Philippines Country Specific Information.
  • Enroll in the Smart Traveler Enrollment Program (STEP) to receive Alerts.
  • Follow us on  Twitter and Facebook.