An official website of the United States government

Guidance on International Certificate of Vaccination and Changes in Quarantine Classifications for August
August 23, 2021

United States Embassy Manila, Philippines

United States Consular Agency Cebu, Philippines  

August 23, 2021

Guidance on International Certificate of Vaccination

and Changes in Quarantine Classifications for August 21-31, 2021

The Philippine government has announced that travelers who are fully vaccinated may now apply for an International Certificate of Vaccination (ICV, or yellow card) from the Philippine Bureau of Quarantine (BOQ).  The ICV can be used as proof of vaccination within the Philippines or internationally.  Each ICV has a unique QR code, allowing local and international authorities to verify its authenticity.  For more information for travelers who are fully vaccinated, please see the BOQ’s website.

Below are the current quarantine classifications according to the Philippine government:

Modified Enhanced Community Quarantine (MECQ) through August 31, 2021

NCR – Metro Manila

Luzon – Cordillera Administrative Region: Apayao; Region I:  Ilocos Norte; Region III:  Bulacan, and Bataan; and Region IV-A:  Cavite, Laguna, Lucena City, and Rizal

Visayas – Region VI:  Aklan, Iloilo, and Iloilo City; Region VII:  Cebu City, Lapu-Lapu City, and Mandaue City

Mindanao – Region X:  Cagayan de Oro

General Community Quarantine (GCQ) with heightened restrictions through August 31, 2021

Luzon – Region I:  Ilocos Sur; Region II:  Cagayan; Region IV-A:  Quezon and Batangas; and Region V:  Naga City

Visayas – Region VI:  Bacolod City, Capiz, and Antique; and Region VII:  Negros Oriental and Cebu Province

Mindanao – Region IX:  Zamboanga del Sur; Region X:  Misamis Oriental; Region XI:  Davao City, Davao del Norte, Davao de Oro, Davao Occidental; and Region XIII:  Butuan City

General Community Quarantine (GCQ) August 1-31, 2021

Luzon – Cordillera Administrative Region:  Baguio City; Region II:  City of Santiago, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya, Quirino; Region III:  Tarlac; Region IV-B:  Puerto Princesa

Visayas – Region VI:  Guimaras, Negros Occidental

Mindanao – Region IX:  Zamboanga Sibugay, Zamboanga City, Zamboanga del Norte; Region XI:  Davao Oriental and Davao del Sur; Region XII:  General Santos City, Sultan Kudarat, Sarangani, North Cotabato, South Cotabato; Region XIII:  Agusan del Norte, Surigao del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Dinagat Islands, Surigao del Sur; and Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao:  Cotabato City

All other areas are under Modified General Community Quarantine (MGCQ) through August 31, 2021.

The above quarantine classifications are subject to change.  For quarantine classification protocols and regulations, visit the Philippine Department of Health’s website.  The Philippine government has mandated that everyone must wear full-coverage face shields together with face masks while in public places.  Local governments continue to implement additional requirements to slow the virus’ spread.

For further information and assistance: